Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY Division 45—Missouri Gaming Commission Chapter 20—Sports Wagering

EMERGENCY RULE

11 CSR 45-20.090 License Fees, Application Fees, and License Renewal Fees

PURPOSE: This rule establishes licensing fees for Retail, Mobile, SW Supplier, Official League Data Provider licenses, and SW Occupational licenses.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency rule is necessary to address Article III, Section 39(g) of the Missouri Constitution, which became law on December 5, 2024. The passage of Amendment 2 authorized retail and mobile sports wagering in the State of Missouri and required it to be regulated by the Missouri Gaming Commission. Amendment 2 specifically states, "the commission shall have the power to adopt and enforce commercially reasonable rules, including emergency rules, to implement the provisions of this section." Furthermore, Amendment 2 requires a start date for sports wagering that is not later than December 1, 2025. In order to meet this deadline, the commission is submitting emergency rules to provide a process for the application, investigation, and granting of sports wagering licenses. In addition, the emergency rules include responsibilities for applicants and licensees to ensure a well-regulated sports wagering industry, consistent with the language in Amendment 2. The emergency rules provide for a fair and consistent application process for all stakeholders. As a result, the Missouri Gaming Commission finds a compelling governmental interest to regulate sports wagering, which requires this emergency action. A proposed rule which covers the same material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency rule is limited to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies with the protections extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions. The Missouri Gaming Commission believes this emergency rule is fair to all interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This emergency rule was filed Feb. 18, 2025, becomes effective March 4, 2025, and expires Aug. 30, 2025.

(1) The applicant license fee shall be—

(A) Retail	\$250,000 \$500,000
(B) Mobile	\$500,000
(2) The license renewal fee shall be—	
(A) Retail	\$250,000
(B) Mobile	\$500,000
(3) The application fee shall be—	
(A) SW Supplier	\$ 25,000
(B) Official League Data Provider	\$ 10,000
(C) Occupational:	
1. Level I-SW	\$ 2,000
2. Level I-SWC	\$ 2,000
3. Level II-SW	\$ 100
4. Level II-SWC	\$ 100

(4) The annual license fee shall be—	
(A) SW Supplier	\$ 10,000
(B) Occupational:	
1. Level I-SW	\$ 250
2. Level I-SWC	\$ 250
3. Level II-SW	\$ 75
4. Level II-SWC	\$ 75

(5) The annual license fee for an Official League Data Provider license is payable to the commission at the end of each year of licensure based on the amount of data sold to Retail and Mobile licensees as official league data during the most recent year of licensure, as follows:

(A) for data sales up to and including \$500,000, the fee is \$10,000;

(B) for data sales in excess of \$500,000 and up to and including \$750,000, the fee is \$15,000;

- (C) for data sales in excess of \$750,000 and up to and including \$1,000,000, the fee is \$20,000;
- (D) for data sales in excess of \$1,000,000 and up to and including \$1,500,000, the fee is \$50,000;
- (E) for data sales in excess of \$1,500,000 and up to and including \$2,000,000, the fee is \$100,000; and

(F) for data sales in excess of 2,000,000, the fee is 150,000.

(6) The applicant license fee or renewal fee for a Retail or Mobile license shall be paid prior to any license being issued.

(7) The application fee for an SW Supplier, Official League Data Provider, or SW Occupational license shall be paid prior to any license being issued.

(8) The annual license fee for SW Supplier and SW Occupational licensees is due upon issuance of the initial license and thereafter is due annually.

(9) All fees, except Retail and Mobile license fees, are nonrefundable and shall be paid regardless of whether the applicant is granted a license.

(10) All fees billed by the commission shall be paid within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of invoice.

(11) The commission may waive the application fee and the annual license fee for an SW Occupational licensee who is currently licensed pursuant to 11 CSR 45-4.

(12) The executive director may waive or modify licensing fees except for Retail or Mobile licenses.

AUTHORITY: section 39(g) of Article III, Mo. Const., sections 313.004 and 313.800–313.850, RSMo 2016 and Supp. 2024. Emergency rule filed Feb. 18, 2025, effective March 4, 2025, expires Aug. 30, 2025. A proposed rule covering this same material is published in this issue of the **Missouri Register**.

PUBLIC COST: This emergency rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the time the emergency is effective.

PRIVATE COST: This emergency rule will cost private entities more than five hundred dollars (\$500) in the time the emergency is effective.

FISCAL NOTE PRIVATE COST

I. Department Title: 11 – Department of Public Safety Division Title: 45 – Missouri Gaming Commission Chapter Title: 20 – Sports Wagering

Rule Number and Title:	11 CSR 45-20.090 License Fees, Application Fees, and License Renewal Fees
Type of Rulemaking:	Emergency Rule

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of entities by class which would likely be affected by the adoption of the rule:	Classification by types of the business entities which would likely be affected:	Estimate in the aggregate as to the cost of compliance with the rule by the affected entities:
15	Retail Sports Wagering Operators	\$286,150.00
21	Mobile Sports Wagering Operators	\$385,875.00
18	Sports Wagering Suppliers	\$650,500.00
1	Official League Data Providers (OLDPs)	\$12,250.00

III. WORKSHEET

Retail Level I's [(7 Level I's for 15 Retail licensees + 13 GM's) X \$2,250]	\$265,500.00
Retail Level II's [(6 Level II's for 13 casinos + 20 Level II's for 2 sports districts) X	
\$175]	\$20,650.00
Total	\$286,150.00
Mobile Level I's [(7 Level I's for each of the 21 Mobile licensees) X \$2,250]	\$330,750.00
Mobile Level II's [(15 Level II's for each of the 21 Mobile licensees) X \$175]	\$55,125.00
Total	\$385,875.00
SW Supplier (18 applicants X \$35,000)	\$630,000.00
SW Supplier Level I's (6 Level I's total X \$2,250)	\$13,500.00
	\$7,000.00
SW Supplier Level II's [(5 Level II's at 8 different suppliers) X \$175]	\$7,000.00
SW Supplier Level II's [(5 Level II's at 8 different suppliers) X \$175]	\$7,000.00
SW Supplier Level II's [(5 Level II's at 8 different suppliers) X \$175] Total	\$650,500.00

OLDP (1 applicant X \$10,000)	\$10,000.00
LevelI(1LevelIX\$2,250)	\$2,250.00
Total	\$12,250.00
GRAND TOTAL	\$1,334,775.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

Retail Sports Wagering Operators – 15 (13 casinos and 2 sports teams)

Mobile Sports Wagering Operators - 21 (13 casinos, 6 sports teams, and 2 direct)

Sports Wagering Suppliers – 18

Official League Data Providers - 1

Level I's - 272 new Level I applicants

Level II's – 473 new Level II applicants

Application and license fees for the initial year are as follows:

Level I – Application fee is \$2,000 and the license fee is \$250;

Level II – Application fee is \$100 and the license fee is \$75;

Sports Wagering Supplier – Application fee is \$25,000 and the license fee is \$10,000;

OLDP – Application fee is \$10,000 and the license fee will be due at the end of the year and will depend on the amount of data sold during that year.